chakra healing for optimal wellbeing


Chakras are the concentrated energy centres of the body. Chakra is a Sanskrit term and it means “wheel” or “disk” and is derived from the root word “cakra”. Each chakra is a spinning wheel of energy/light and corresponds to a different colour of the rainbow and resonates at a different frequency.

The earliest mention of the term chakra is in India and is said to come from the Vedas, one of the holy books of the Hindus, believed to date back over 2,500 years. To go back even further Yogis and Mystics passed down the notion of the seven 'maps of consciousness' for optimal wellbeing. Chakras were recognized as essential to life, although this is still a relatively new concept to most people.

All living things are created by and comprise of energy. The human energy system is said to have many chakras but within the traditional Hindu system there are seven main chakras positioned throughout the body, from the base of the spine to the top of the head. The ability of the chakras to function optimally is what helps keeps us balanced mentally, emotionally, physically, and spiritually. The chakras help to regulate all the body's processes, from organ function to the immune system and emotions.

As with a lot of ancient practices the chakra system offers a valuable explanation of the holistic nature of human beings. We need to take a holistic approach to our health and wellbeing and look at the physical, emotional, mental and spiritual, to enable us to promote a healthy flow of energy through our chakras. Each of the seven chakras deals with the different parts of the bigger picture and shows us those areas where we might be out of balance.

There are many things we can do to help maintain the health of our chakras. Clearing out clutter in our lives, physically and emotionally, can be hugely beneficial as it helps to strengthen the flow of our energy. Forgiveness and compassion also greatly enhances our energetic health. Yoga is a good way to strengthen and enhance the flow of our chakra systems and Reiki helps to strengthen the body’s energetic flow to bring back balance and promotes wellbeing on all levels.

If you are interested in a Reiki chakra balancing treatment then please get in touch or if you want to learn how to balance your own chakras for optimal wellbeing at home then sign up to the newsletter and watch out for updates on the course! You can also download the free chakra summary sheet below.

Holistic health near me, Reiki, Stress reduction, alternative therapies Lincolnshire,  Chakra balanc


Below is a list of each chakra, starting at the base of the spine and moving up.

Root (1st) - The Muladhara is the chakra of grounding, stability, security, our basic needs and survival instincts. When this chakra is open we feel safe, fearless, grounded and motivated.

It is located at the base of the spine and it has the colour red.

Sacral (2nd) - The Svadhisthana chakra governs our self-esteem, self-worth, healthy expressions of creativity and sexuality, joy and pleasure.

It is located at the lower abdomen and its colour is orange.

Solar Plexus (3rd) - The Manipura chakra means lustrous gem and is our source of personal power and confidence. It governs impulse control and ego.

It is located at upper abdomen and has the colour yellow.

Heart (4th) - The Anahata is at the middle of the seven chakras and unites the lower chakras of matter and the upper chakras of spirit. It governs our ability to love and receive love and balance in relationships, compassion, feelings of harmony and peace.

It is located at the centre of the chest and has the colour green.

Throat (5th) - The Vishuddha chakra is our source of verbal expression and the ability to speak our highest truth.

It is located at the Throat and has the colour blue

Third Eye (6th) - The Ajna chakra is also referred to as the “third eye” chakra. Ajna is our centre of intuition. It governs rationality, wisdom, imagination and our ability to manifest

It is located between the eyebrows and has the colour purple

Crown (7th) - The Sahaswara chakra or the “thousand petal lotus” chakra is the chakra of enlightenment, self realisation, awareness and spiritual connection to our higher selves, others, and the divine.

It is located at the top of the head and has the colour indigo.

Feel free to download the summary sheet above which shows the expressions of each chakra when they are in and out of balance.

chakra energy centres, chakra balancing, stress reduction, holistic health Lincolnshire


Our wellbeing on all levels is connected to the chakras. When a chakra is not functioning properly or if it is blocked, illness is more likely to occur. A “block” is a place where your energies are confined or unable to flow freely. If the energy cannot flow freely, it can lead to illness and mental disease. If we block or push down feelings such as anger or sadness, or do not speak our truth, we may be unconsciously obscuring a healthy energy flow. Most of us have energetic blocks and imbalances that affect our vitality. The stress of living in today's hectic and chaotic world can cause our chakras to become blocked.

Each Chakra works efficiently only when other chakras are fully aligned and engaged with the energy system. They are all part of the whole. If we pay attention to our bodies and how we are feeling we can see which chakras are out of balance.

To restore balance to the chakras, cleansing is needed to remove any blockages to enable it to function optimally. The most common ways to balance the chakras are listed below:

- Reiki

- Aromatherapy

- Conscious breathing

- Chakra meditation

- Tai Chi

- Yoga

- Acupressure and acupuncture

Another common way to bring the chakras back into alignment is the use of 'healing stones' which are infact crystals.

Chakra healing stones, Chakra balancing for health and wellbeing. chakra balancing with reiki and cr


Chakra 'healing stones' are crystals chosen with the colour to correspond to individual chakras. Each crystal possesses a vibrational frequency that matches that of the chakra over which it is placed. Cleansed and charged prior to use, the seven crystals are laid upon the body’s seven main energy centres. As the chakra absorbs the crystal’s frequency, its balance is restored.
There are different crystals for each of the chakras based on their colour and vibrational frequencies. However “Clear Quartz” is a Master crystal and it can help heal all seven chakras.

Reiki chakra healing and balancing


The stress and negativity most of us experience in today's world can also cause our chakras to become blocked. Reiki helps to remove blocks and get the energy flowing freely and this helps your body to create harmony within as it releases imbalances created by negative influences. Energizing the chakras with Reiki will not only heal but also will also lead to a feeling of peace and serenity.

The Reiki treatment involves the practitioner placing their hands on specific points above your body to channel the Reiki energy whilst visualizing the Reiki symbols to facilitate the healing experience. For specific chakra balancing Reiki treatments I also use the chakra balancing stones and sound frequency.

Please get in touch at to book your chakra balancing treatment, reduce your stress and restore your wellbeing today!

chakras spiritualism-4552237_1920.jpg

Balance mind, body and spirit